July Focus: Flowers

July 2017Fourteen paintings in July! Focus was flowers with two special requests: a rabbit and a pileated woodpecker.

Oils are suiting my schedule. I love how works in progress patiently wait and invite pondering. I also love how by slowing down, I arrive at different levels of  awareness. It’s amazing how what was not seen the day before is so glaringly apparent the next.

Another benefit of slowing down is reflection. I’ve been at this for a long time. Seventeen years of painting ebbs and flows and twists and turns. A turning point book for me early on was Julia Cameron’s, The Artist’s Way.

I’ve decided to go through her 12 week process again. This will be the 3rd time. Curious to see what happens along the way where it leads.

My August painting focus: Light and Shadow.

PS: I’m teaching a weekend Alcohol Ink Dreamscaping Workshop at John C. Campbell Folk School, March 9-11, 2018. More Info

PPS: The new JCCFS Catalog Cover is a segment from a watercolor I shared progress steps of in earlier posts. The original was donated to the JCCFS and is hanging in Keith House Living Room. See inspiration behind and progression of, Follow The Red Railed Walkway.

2017-18 JCC Cat

Now is the best time for us to begin.

“Every journey begins with a single step.” -Lao Tzu

 

One thought on “July Focus: Flowers

Leave a comment