Character Development

Still having fun painting animals. Thank goodness for inspiration from sites with copyright free photos like morgue file and pixabay. I scroll through image after image until something speaks to me.

It may be the lighting, value contrasts or movement that grab my attention. Or, it might just be a cute, baby goat like this most recent painting.

young-gruff-8x10-fb

“Young Gruff,” 8×10 Watercolor, ©June Rollins

What happens next is the fun in coming up with a title. I will often ask my husband, Rob, for ideas. With this one he laughed and said, “Three Billy Goats Gruff.” I researched this Norwegian Fairy Tale and decided this goat was “Young Gruff.” The one with high persuasive skills that went over the bridge first .

I then found myself wondering what the third goat looked like? The one that went over the bridge last and challenged the troll. My image seeking led me to…Billy Goat Gruff.

billy-goat-gruff-fb

“Billy Goat Gruff, 8×10, Watercolor, June Rollins

When I showed Rob, he loved it and said, “What about the middle goat?”

“I don’t know, I might be moving on to something else.”

“Oh yeah,” He teased, “the middle child. Everyone forgets about the middle child.”

______________________________

Now, I’m on the look out for that one and only, special, middle child, goat. He will need to be one like no other; not being able to rely on cuteness like his baby brother, Young Gruff, and not having the status of the oldest like Billy Goat Gruff. The search for better character development continues. Both of these goats and I hope a third very soon are listed for sale in my Daily Paintworks Gallery.

Happy seeking and storytelling to All.

 

4 thoughts on “Character Development

Leave a Reply

