Coloring Big Bear’s World – Step 3

Step 3I always experiment with different color themes on a scrap piece of watercolor paper prior to beginning a new painting. I’m currently fascinated with the vibrancy of Dr. Ph. Martin’s Hydrus Watercolors. (L-R): Phthalo Green, Cobalt Violet, Burnt Sienna, Cobalt Blue, Sepia and Burnt Umber.

Step 4

When I feel comfortable with the colors, I boldly move forward. Here, I’ve placed Saran Wrap into most of the wet washes and left it to dry overnight. See now, why I needed to save Big Bear? He would have been washed away 🙂

______________________

This is part of a series of posts focusing on the stages of painting Big Bear.

2 thoughts on “Coloring Big Bear’s World – Step 3

Leave a Reply

