When The Subject Chooses Us…

There’s Usually Something To Learn.

For two years, this reference photo was in a lucite stand near my art table, patiently waiting to be painted. Each time I walked by it, I would wonder why I was drawn to it. Not a particularly interesting composition, even though I was the one who had taken the photo 🙂

I think what drew me was the story behind these hollyhocks…

I had grown from seed.

In 2011, I was a most avid, beginning gardener, enraptured with growing things from seed. To increase my rate of seed growing success, I chose those with the shortest germination times. The back of the seed packet told me hollyhocks germinated in 10-14 days. These healthy, little seedlings appeared as promised!

But something went wrong. The entire first year, I had tall, strong, lime green hollyhock stalks filled with fluffy, lime green hollyhock foliage, but no hollyhock blooms. Not the right location? Not the right soil? Not enough Miracle-Gro? I re-read the seed packet back. Sure enough, 10-14 days to germination. But along beside that…

365 Days To Bloom

Ever had a project you poured yourself into that took longer than expected? How long is this going to take? Is it ever going to happen? Should I give-up? What were these hollyhocks trying to teach me? I googled hollyhocks to find out more:

Most hollyhocks are biennials, that is, they grow only foliage the first year, flower the second, and die that fall. However, if you establish a stand of hollyhocks, they’ll reseed each year so there will always be plenty blooming. Interestingly, the flowers open from the bottom to the top of the spike throughout the summer.

_______________________________________

Lessons Learned From Hollyhock 101

1. Take time to work quietly and patiently underground before going public.

2. When you do have that first exhibition, give it all you’ve got as if it were your one and only  chance to shine.

3. Have many other works in progress for new life to emerge from the ground up in the future.

_______________________________

Last Hurrah Watercolor, 9x15 Dreamscaping With June Rollins®

Last Hurrah
Watercolor, 9×15
Dreamscaping With June Rollins®

Teach us to number our days…Psalm 90:12

 See some of the painting process of Last Hurrah at June Rollins ART (June 14, 2014)

 

4 thoughts on “When The Subject Chooses Us…

  1. Thank you, Sandy! Yes, I do. A bit different than alcohol ink dreamscaping. I had a photo reference, which I did not follow closely, even though it was a stating point. I did have a loose sketch, that I also didn’t follow exactly. it was a loose framework. The watercolor board was on a tilt and I think some of the most beautiful effects appeared without my help, which make it like dreamscaping 🙂

Leave a Reply

