Pros & Cons Using Citra Solv With Alcohol Inks

Loving The Effects Of Using Citra Solv with Alcohol Inks…

Dreamscape No. 538, 5x6, Yupo Dreamscaping With June Rollins®

Dreamscape No. 538, 5×6, Yupo
Dreamscaping With June Rollins®

Colors Used- Adirondack Sailboat Blue, Citrus, Purple Twilight, Silver Mixative

Techniques– Initially dropped and guided inks with usual Dreamscaping Techniques. Experimented with Citra Solv toothbrush splatter into wet ink and dry ink. Also used coffee stirrer and credit card. Sky has a lot of Silver Mixative. Moon is lifted with Citra Solv and a Q-Tip.

Pros

1. Edge Quality – Citra Solv slightly thickens alcohol inks causing a variety of edges when using Dreamscaping Techniques.

2. Texture Variety – Splattering Citra Solv with a toothbrush creates variety of textures. Be sure to wait a few seconds for texture to appear.

3. Lifting – Using a Q-Tip dipped in Citra Solv creates natural effects.

4. Small Corrections – Using a Q-Tip dipped in Citrasolv can alter minor flaws without disturbing surrounding areas.

Cons

1. Increased Drying Time – Make sure Citra Solv skies are totally dry before dropping in Metallic Mixative suns/moons.

2. Tacky Surface – If too much Citra Solv is used, surface stays tacky to the touch. A little goes a long way.

3. Fading Issues – Have received reports from a credible source of alcohol ink artwork with Citra Solv fading. Makes me wonder if ingredients in Citra Solv contribute.

4. May Need Extra Vinyl Gloves –  The photo below shows what happened after 20-30 minutes of splattering Citra Solv with a toothbrush.

I hope what I am learning will be helpful to anyone considering experimenting with Citra Solv and alcohol inks. Incredibly fun with interesting effects, but still too early to tell how well the finished paintings will hold up.

Welcome comments from others on their discoveries using Citra Solv with alcohol inks.

9 thoughts on “Pros & Cons Using Citra Solv With Alcohol Inks

  1. Thank you so much for your blog. I have learned so much so far. Recently, began using alcohol inks to “loosen up” in my painting. Then while researching more I came across Citra Solv and it’s uses. I am still experimenting! Please keep posting on your blog. My lap top does not allow for dvd’s so I am unable to order your dvd’s, but I have your book as a reference!
    Thanks so much. I would love more videos!

  2. Hi June,
    Thank you so much for the link! I have searched everywhere for more of your tutorials so I am a bit confused as to why I was not able to find them myself. Anyway, I would to take one of your workshops. I live on Cape Cod. Do you only offer them in NC? There are wonderful places on Cape Cod to do art if you travel at all.
    Thanks again!

  3. Thank you so much for your comments on the pros and cons of using Citra Solv with the Alcohol inks… Sounds like you need to sort of “know what u’r doing” and be pretty careful. But, isn’t is BEAUTIFUL??? I think so… 🙂

  4. Really helpful article here June, I’ve been curious about Citra Solv, thanks so much for sharing with us!! ❤

Leave a Reply

