Already Playing Catch-Up

Realized I need to paint a day ahead because Day 3 painting needed to be posted tonight  in my  DPW Gallery in order for it to show up on Day 3, tomorrow.

Fortunate to have had a few extra hours today to devote to the challenge.

Here are Day 2 and 3 Paintings:

Dreamscape No. 504, 5x7 Watercolor, © June Rollins

Day 2 – Dreamscape No. 504, 5×7
Watercolor, © June Rollins

Used one of my favorite, warm-up combos: Burnt Sienna and Ultramarine Blue. Minimal brushwork. Wet-into-wet with board on a tilt.

Day 3 - Dreamscape No. 505, 5x5 Acrylic, ©June Rollins

Day 3 – Dreamscape No. 505, 5×5
Acrylic, ©June Rollins

I bought a starter set of Holbein Acrylic Tube Paints for an Intro To Acrylics Workshop I took in 2009. Hadn’t touched them since. I had read you can water them down and use like watercolor. Gave Burnt Sienna and Ultramarine Blue a go in acrylics too.

Day 2 Awareness

Because of the accountability of the 30 In 30 Challenge, I painted during my free, daylight hours today instead of checking Facebook  and other social media sites which I have felt compelled to do the last several weeks.

More and more of my time has been spent sitting in front of my computer instead of my painting table. Not good when yet another day has gone by with nothing painted. Feeling pressured by not enough time, I certainly wouldn’t have had the presence of spirit to dig out those acrylics and experiment, which was kinda fun! And good comparison exercise.

 I have fewer free hours now than I used to which makes it even more critical on how I use those hours. I believe it will behoove this artist to be online for a pre-determined, limited amount of time in the evenings only, as in set a timer. Ding! Time’s Up!

Feeling better already 🙂

6 thoughts on “Already Playing Catch-Up

  1. “ding time’s up” is the best idea I’ve heard in a long time. I have been wasting my life on computer researching things that don’t need to be researched etcetc thanks

Leave a Reply

