Celebrating My Mom

I first began trying to sell my art in the mid-90s. Several framed photos and watercolors with quotes had been in a gift shop on consignment for about 6 months with none selling.

I was beyond discouraged on the day I opened the envelope from Bittersweet with a check reflecting the sale of 3 photos. I phoned my mom to tell her of my success. She celebrated with me. That first sale had been just the boost I had needed to keep me going.

When I visited my parents a few weeks later, I was shocked to see those three framed photos hanging in the hallway of their home.

I turned to her accusingly, “It was you!”

She laughed, “I can buy your work if I want to!” 

And soon had me laughing along with her, feeling very loved.

__________________________________________________

Celebrating my Mom.

She was strength and joy, fun and laughter.

http://www.finchandfinchfuneralservice.com/obituaries/Sabra-Plymale/

18 thoughts on “Celebrating My Mom

  1. Thank you for sharing about your mom. It reminded me of my mom who was always full of fun and laughter too!

    Love your blogs and art. You are an inspiration!

    Donnalyn Yates

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Dear June,

    I am so sorry to hear about the passing of your mom. I recently ordered both of your DVD’s ( dreamscaping with alcohol inks) and they have been my salvation. I have been spending a great deal of time lately away from home caring for my mother who is 98 years and dying from lung cancer. When I need a break, I bring out my inks and dreamscape and it really helps take my mind off of everything.

    Once again, my thoughts are with you,

    Sharon

  3. Dear June,

    I am so sorry for your loss.
    You were definitely blessed to have such a precious mother.
    I truly understand as I lost my mother when I was only 40 years old, and she was 70.
    I am so happy you had your mother for so many years.

    God bless you dear sister in Jesus.
    Love, Donna

  4. PS……..my mother bought my first painting too! And, now it hangs in my studio to continue to encourage me! Aren’t Moms just wonderful!!! And so are you, June. Hugs, Donna

  5. Thank you, Sharon. My thoughts are with you as you are caring for your mom. Yes, I know how art can be restorative. We connect as we hold each other in our thoughts. Strength to you.

  6. Oh June, I am so sorry. Your Mom was so sweet and I now you will miss her. You have so many wonderful memories to cherish and hold in your heart. Love you.

  7. Dear June, My thoughts are with you as you deal with the loss of your Mom. Her love and light shines through in the video. I know she will be missed, but what wonderful memories she left you to hold in your heart….Patty Stamey

  8. What a sweet story June and what a special Mother you had. She will forever be with you in your heart and the person that YOU are. God bless you.

  9. Dear June,
    I love the photo of you and your Mom. And I am so sorry to hear about your loss of her. I feel your pain because I lost my Mom two years ago. You will always have her with you in your memories. That is God’s gift to you. I will be thinking of you.

    Diana

  10. I am so sorry to hear of your loss. It sounds like you and your mother are very alike – wonderful giving individuals. I am glad you have so many wonderful memories to comfort you.

  11. Dear June, I was so sorry to read about your losing your mother. I know how devoted to her you were and how much you miss her. You are in my thoughts and prayers. Sarah Price Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

