Packing Studio Is Energizing

I’m Packing My Studio…

 

because my husband and I are moving to Murphy, NC the middle of July.

Yes, it’s hard, difficult work…

But I didn’t realize how energizing it would be.

In three ways:

Past

As I’m sorting through my art, I see how my painting style has changed and is changing. I’m realizing past choices and decisions I’ve made that have most contributed to my growth.

Present

I’m enjoying the process. Before I put that journal in a box, I’m reading a few entries. I’m posting a few Memory Lane photos on my FB page. Don’t be shy. It won’t hurt my feelings if you LIKE my art page 🙂

Future

As I’m going through closets, cabinets and drawers, I’m asking myself, Does this paint, mat board, frame, paper, etc. contribute to the direction I want to go as an artist?

If it doesn’t, I’m doing my best to give away or throw away….I’ve only fished through a garbage bag once the morning after a throwing away frenzy to retrieve some 15-year-old 35mm nature slides.

And while I’m not tearing up any of my paintings….

There are a few, I am folding nicely and putting away.

It’s easier that way.

Let’s Keep Dreaming 🙂

4 thoughts on “Packing Studio Is Energizing

  1. It’s quite the process! Looking forward to reading more as you walk from moving to getting settled in a new creative space. I’ll enjoy hearing how you discover new friends, opportunities and endeavors in yet another beautiful area of our state.
    As I used to sing as a child…”Make new friends, but keep the old, one is silver and the other gold.”
    Best to you.
    Nancy

  2. WILL YOU STILL BE ABLE TO MAKE IT TO THE ARTISTS LEAGUE IN ABERDEEN? HOPE SO, IF NOT, THE VERY BEST WISHES FOR A NEW HOME.

Leave a Reply

