When Is The Best Time To Paint?

Whenever You Can.

Selecting Colors
For Bridal Bouquet Portrait Commission

Sometimes I’ve gotten up before dawn to paint in the wee hours of the morning and sometimes I’ve painted on into the night. Today, I have been blessed with a quiet afternoon, sipping green tea with a peony from the flower garden to contemplate color combinations.

Everyone is different. I need peace and quiet for the creative muse to flow. Phones ringing and doorbells chiming don’t make for a good painting session. Anyone who works with watercolor knows this. There are certain times in the process when stopping for even one minute, spells ruined attempt.

But I’m also speaking of peace and quiet within. Whatever is happening on the inside, soon shows up in the artwork. It has a way of coming down the arms, into the hands, through the brush and onto the painting surface.

Now, the real growing edge would be to maintain a calm center when the outside is a helter-skelter bombardment. But for now, I will get lost in the bliss of this watercolor-peony-filled afternoon.

I don’t know what inspiration is.

But when it comes, I hope it finds me working.

-Picasso

7 thoughts on “When Is The Best Time To Paint?

  1. Such beautiful thoughts!!
    And SO true as well!

    Today, for myself a “non” painting day, has been spent re-organizing the dining room-studio space. I love painting in there, but it had gotten out of hand. It is almost done. By tomorrow, i should be able to find my quiet place and paint, paint, paint!!

    What worked—
    I joyfully dispensed with a “desk” and opted instead for a small area on a shelf for just “office” items. The “desk” was always pile up to my nose anyway! And, I carefully divided all into 3 areas: office items, acrylic on the easel items, and watercolor items. Everything in it’s place…….PEACE and QUIET here I come!

  2. I am so with you, Donna, Yesterday and last night was my, get this cleared out so I can breathe time.

    Your new space arrangements sounds wonderful! Peaceful Painting to You!

  3. I could not agree more! You make such a valid point about needing peace and quiet within. Also needed at least for me is a space that is organized. I paint with oil, acrylic and watercolor and also keep on hand pastels and other media to do workups and experiment with. I paint almost every day, so my studio has had to be very organized! I just redid my studio and while I have a little fine tuning to do, I am always ready to paint when I am there. I find I work best in the evenings and sometimes through the night mainly because of the solitude and lack of distractions. Now and then a little Vivaldi playing in the background doesn’t hurt 🙂

  4. Angelina, thank you for commenting here and for following my blog! I esp. love, I am always ready to paint… and that you work in a lot of different mediums.

    You’ve got it all working: organization, inspiration and determination!

    I’m ready to go paint now!

    Happy Painting Day To You!

  5. I am struggling to find ‘painting time’. I’ve been writing so much, I haven’t given myself the grace to be physically creative (which is how painting feels to me — the engagement of all my senses with my body).

    Thank you for the inspiration. I am at home alone this weekend and other than a lunch engagement on Saturday, have a wide open calendar!

    I shall be immersed in colour and texture spilling out onto a canvas!

Leave a Reply

