House Portrait Completed – Landscaping

More Detailing…

I used to think after I removed the masking there wasn’t much else left to do. Wrong. Tiny brush strokes symbolize shadow shapes that define architectural details. I’m not trying to produce realism here. Just a suggestion. The viewer does the rest. To me, a more interesting interpretation.

Next, a little more landscaping.

But may I please use some artistic license…

…when it comes to the majestic trees surrounding the house?

 I don’t want the trees to obscure and overpower. Just a suggestion serves to nestle the house more into the painting.

Add a few branches, sign my name and the house portrait is finished and ready to be delivered in time for Christmas.

Thank you, Becky & George.

6 thoughts on “House Portrait Completed – Landscaping

  1. Thank you for sharing not only your amazing work, but also your valuable insights with us here. I can now see why your paintings always look so vibrant and uncluttered – I still have so much to learn!

  2. June, this is absolutely beautiful. You have created a lasting treasure for these folks. I so enjoyed watching your progress. You are fearless! I am particularly fond of the “painting-behind” technique on the trees behind the right hand side porch columns. Very dramatic! I am fascinated with this effect since you showed it to us with the ginkgo leaves. I wish you and yours a Merry Christmas and I look forward to January 14.

  3. June thank you so much. This is exactly what I need to help me paint the house for my neighbor. It’s been so warm that I have not sat down to start it yet, but I’m sure some cold weather will be here soon.

  4. Hi Becky! Good to hear from you! Imagine you are enjoying your horses in this warm weather. Glad the house portrait might provide a helpful guide. I know what you do will be wonderful and I look forward to seeing it 🙂

Leave a Reply

