House Portrait Progress Continued – Shadows

 Shadows Shapes

Here I am mindful of value and temperature to symbolize depth and light. The cool washes are cast shadows and warm washes under eaves and base of porch wall are reflected  light.

Adding a darker value second wash under front porch. This will really bring the porch roof forward and accentuate the distinctive trim work.

Blending and losing edge with a warmer wash.

At this stage all I want to do is put everything on hold

and paint, paint, paint…

Keeping my fingers crossed, that is what I am doing the next two days. Maybe, tomorrow, we will put on a roof 🙂

Hope you are enjoying seeing this lovely home come into being.

2 thoughts on “House Portrait Progress Continued – Shadows

  1. Your house portrait is showing great character. I was inspired to paint my own home as a Christmas card. It was fun if not so good but your progress inspires me

Leave a Reply

