From Ground Zero

Starting Over…

My current fascination is the Monarch and its fall migration. Two years ago I planted butterfly weed and as promised, the Monarchs came. The above photo is of a butterfly weed seed pod, which is essential to the life of the Monarch.

I see it as being from ground zero and holds the core essence of a remarkable cycle of new life, rebirth, transformation and connectedness. To me, it symbolizes the courage, unfailing spirit and hope of those affected by 9/11.

The butterfly weed is the only plant the Monarch lays her eggs, the only plant the monarch caterpillars eat and the only flower the monarch butterfly uses for nectar.

Within a few weeks the Monarch Butterfly emerges from its chrysalis.

As I have listened to the 9/11 survivor stories, one of the prevailing  themes I hear is, “I see life differently now. Life is precious. The people in my life…precious. I don’t take anything for granted anymore.”

In the Monarch, is the spirit to to begin again, to continue, to be transformed.

In honor of all affected by 9/11.

All of us.

4 thoughts on “From Ground Zero

  1. This is beautiful …. the essence of perseverance, renewal and rebirth. So appropriate for 9/11.

    Thanks for sharing. Dolores Muller

  2. Hi Chris,

    Thank you. The image touches me deeply too. It reminds me of wise, aged hands, open and lifted heavenward in celebration of letting go; knowing that in the dying, new life emerges. And the St Benedict quote is my current shimmering. I think you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

