Step 4 – Iris No. 9 Watercolor Demonstration

See how closely I’m working with the photo? Something a lot of artists frown upon. What can I say? It works for me.

I will clarify though, I am not thinking yellow iris while I paint. Notice how the photo is upside down? I am focusing on that smaller mid-valued, soft-edged shape. Just as the shadow shapes on a person’s face are critical for portraiture, the shadow shapes here are equally important.

Right away, before the edges dry, I use a different sable brush with just water in it to soften the edges of the smaller mid-valued shape I just laid in. This technique of dry glazing a second mid-valued wash over a previous light-valued wash and losing the edges adds depth and form.

A valuable technique to master.

Thank you for subscribing to my blog and happy painting!

2 thoughts on “Step 4 – Iris No. 9 Watercolor Demonstration

Leave a Reply

