“Lady Amethyst” Step 2 Watercolor Demo

I turned the photo upside down and the iris became a mosaic of abstract, curving shapes. I began with one of the lightest valued shapes. I first painted with water and then added color to create soft edges.

The above image shows the iris, upright and the initial wash on three shapes. I’ll continue painting the rest of the shapes as I have these first three, estimating value and color.

Large white areas I will paint around but you can see masking was previouly added where I knew I wanted sharp-edged, tiny shapes saved.

Leave a Reply

