Happy Surprise!

The e-mail came last Sat., Mar. 13th. The subject line read American Artist Magazine.  At first I thought “solicitation,” until I recognized  it was from one of my students. What did Fran have to say? I opened it.

Congatulations on your painting being in the Spring Issue of Watercolor! Looking forward to the April 9th class.

She must be mistaken. No one had contacted me from the magazine. Surely I would know. I had gotten the issue a few days ago and had not had time to look through it. Suddenly, I had time.

I didn’t have to look far. Right there on page 15 was my watercolor,  “Mixed Messages.” It was shown with three other paintings by other artists, all accepted by juror, Cheng-Khee Chee, into 33rd Annual Exhibition of the Southern Watercolor Society in Madisonville, KY.

And if that wasn’t good news enough. I had thought the twelve hour drive out of the question, but my husband tells me we are going to the Mar. 27th opening reception! Rob knows how much this means to me because this year I receive signature membership in SW.

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Surprise!

  1. Happy Surprise, indeed!

    You are published, girl!!!!!! Congratulations, June – and I’m so glad you’ll be able to go to the opening exhibit. So very happy for you, my friend!

    love, Susan

Leave a Reply

